Scattered Pieces

These are the words I held back

Coming back from school

Finally! I am now back to school. After staying at home for 4 days just because of sore eyes, I can say that I missed school. It was difficult for me to stay at home because I had nothing to do except do the usual activities. Such activities included watch TV, surf the NET, play video games, eat and rest.

The doctor said I suffered from Conjuctivitis, which is an acute inflammnation of the conjunctiva (the outermost layer of the eye). I got Conjunctivitis because my cousin, who had that condition, was around when there was a gathering at one of my aunt’s house.

Conjunctivitis is contagious. The person with that condition does not have to make eye contact. Just being in the same room with the person suffering from Conjuctivitis is enough for one to be infected. That’s what happened to me. I was shocked to find out that my cousin was the reason I got Conjunctivitis since I never approached him on the day that there was a gathering.

I will admit that getting back from an absence can be difficult especially if one studies in my school. My classmates told me I really missed a lot. Quizzes, assignments, lectures and notes… When I got back to school, we were going to have a long test in Math and I wasn’t around when the topics were discussed. Great. Last minute studying for me. This is what’s really hard when you are absent. You have to catch up with what you missed otherwise, you’ll be left behind. Let this be a lesson to everyone. I’m not saying that you should not stay at home anymore if you are sick. Just know your responsibilities and be sure to call your classmates and be updated with what’s happening.

Leave a Reply

