Scattered Pieces

These are the words I held back

Short Story: Mother’s Home

Doug turned his car to the left and saw his mother’s place. He let out a huge sigh of relief.

In a few minutes, he would be able to let everything out. He had been doing this ever since his parents split, which was two years ago. He got out of his car and started walking. He opened the gate and sat on the grass. His mom was there, waiting for him to tell her about his day.

“Hey, Mom! How are you right now? Is your new man keeping you in good company? Where is he right now, anyway?” he began.

“I miss you, Mom. It’s been two years now but I still look for you in our house. I keep on looking for that person who cooks our food. I keep on looking for that person who usually sits beside me at the dining table. I keep on looking for that person who lies down beside Dad in his room. I keep on looking for that person who greets me and Sam after I pick her up in school. I keep on looking for that person who always goes to my room just to say ‘Goodnight’.” he said.

“Don’t worry, Mom. I won’t ask you to come back since I know you’re happy with your new man.” he added.

He didn’t wait for his mom’s reaction anymore. Instead, he started narrating the events of the day. He told her about his fight with his girlfriend, Anna. Anna had been complaining that they haven’t been spending time with each other for a long time already. He also told her about how his group’s presentation turned out to be horrible for thesis class. How most of his group members were simply reading from the powerpoint. How most of his group members could not come up with a confident answer to the question of the panelists. How the panelists said that they were disappointed with the lack of unity in the group. He also didn’t forget to tell his mom about his dad and his sister.

“Things have not been going with well for the family ever since you left, Mom. Dad lost his job and he hasn’t been the same. Me and Sam would often be alone in the house as he would only come home during the wee hours. Often, he would come home drunk and in a bad mood. I feel like he’s no longer the man I came to know, Mom.” he said with a hint of sadness.

He went on to tell how his sister also changed. Before, Sam was always willing to talk to him about anything. However, after the split, Sam changed. She had diminished appetite, reduced energy, loss of interest in her usual activities and a disturbed sleeping pattern.

“I don’t know what to do with her, Mom. I have a feeling that she is depressed but what can I do? Where will I get the money to have her treated by a psychiatrist? My daily allowance isn’t even enough to save money! Aside from that, Dad just lost his job and I don’t want to ask money from him right now.” he went on.

With that, Doug burst into tears, which flowed freely, as he bitterly lamented his life. He did this for a few minutes until he realized his face was no longer wet. As it happened, he felt his chest getting lighter. He felt a sense of guidance and comfort, just by letting out all his problems, even if the beasts of his life had not yet been slain. By being in the company of his mother, Doug felt better now. He felt better even if his mother was unable to say anything. Her company was enough to give him strength and courage to keep going on.

“Thanks for listening to me, Mom. You’re always such a good listener and that’s one thing that I like about you. I would love to stay longer and spend time with you but I have to be in school tomorrow at 7 in the morning. Plus I’m pretty sure Dad’s out again and Sam would be all alone in the house. Goodbye, Mom! I’ll see you tomorrow!” he said.

With that, he stood up and left the cemetery.

END OF STORY

I would love to hear your feedback as this is my first short story after eight years. Aside from that, I was also inspired to make a story after sharing all the entries I shared with you from the last post.

Were you able to catch all the clues leading to the ending? Did the ending leave you by surprise? Or were you expecting it to end that way? Do you have any suggestions as to how I could improve my writing?

Leave a Reply

