Scattered Pieces

These are the words I held back

Spicy Thai Chicken Soup

Thai Chicken Soup

Today was another day where I simply felt like cooking. My cousin, who owns a Thai restaurant, was visiting so I decided to cook up something Thai. And since I’ve been making a lot of soups lately, I decided to make Thai chicken soup.

Also, it’s been awhile since I last posted an entry on my recipes so here you go!

We ate this soup for dinner tonight; I was able to have 3 servings before I realized that I had had enough with the spiciness of the soup. Throughout dinner, I noticed that my nephew kept saying “Ouch!”. Later, we figured out that he was probably referring to the spiciness of the soup since we kept saying it every time he tasted the soup. Sorry, nephew! Next time, I’ll lessen the amount of curry paste for you!

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon of coconut oil

3 onions, chopped

8 sprigs of coriander, chopped

4 cups of chicken broth

4 cups of coconut milk

1 tablespoon of honey

1 head broccoli

6 potatoes, chopped (optional)

6 carrots, chopped (optional)

1 pound of chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces

2 tablespoons of lemon juice squeezed from lemons

2 tablespoons of red curry paste

3 tablespoons of fish sauce

1/2 cup of cilantro, minced

1/2 lemon, cut into wedges

Turmeric, to taste

Thyme, to taste

Chili (optional)

Instructions

1. Heat the coconut oil in a large saucepan.

2. Add onions and coriander and stir frequently for 3-5 minutes

3. Stir in the broth, coconut milk and honey and allow it to simmer.

4. Add broccoli and cook for 3-5 minutes. You may also add potatoes and carrots for more vegetables

5. Add chicken and cook until chicken for 5 minutes or when chicken is no longer pink.

6. In a small bowl, combine lemon juice, fish sauce and curry paste and stir it into the soup.

7. Season with turmeric and thyme. Just trust me on this one! 🙂

8. Garnish with coriander and lemon wedges.

9. Add optional choice and cook for 10 minutes

10. Serve.

Notes:

– If you don’t have chicken broth, then you can settle for chicken bouillon cubes. 3 cubes are enough with 4 cups of water.

– You can also use coconut powder over coconut milk. When I was out of coconut milk, I simply mixed 80 grams of coconut powder in 3 1/2 cups of water.

– Limes are a GREAT substitute for lemon. Using lime makes the soup a lot sweeter. If you want a sweeter soup, make sure you have 3 tablespoons of lime juice squeezed from limes and 1 lime for the wedges.

– You can add bouillon cubes to the soup even if you’re already using chicken broth but your soup may end up very salty.

– Lessening the amount of curry paste lessens the spiciness of the soup. If you’re not into spicy food, you can settle for 2 teaspoons of red curry paste.

Oh, my cousin rated the soup and she gave it a 7/10. Personally, she believes the soup would have been better if the soup was thicker. Not bad considering that the rating came from someone who studied making Thai dishes for seven years. 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

