Scattered Pieces

These are the words I held back

12am Thoughts

late

Most of the phrases below are thoughts that have been lingering in my mind for the past couple of weeks. A lot of these thoughts have almost made it to Twitter but I have ultimately decided not to tweet them. I am sharing these unspoken thoughts here because I personally hate expressing most of my deepest thoughts in Twitter.

Besides, most of my followers do not know that this side of me exists. My interactions with my followers have been very casual and shallow. Never or rarely do we engage in deep conversations about life so it would seem kinda off if they read these thoughts/tweets.

But you guys do since this is where most of my unexpressed feelings end up. Here goes!

  1. False hope is easy to define. It’s simply the failure to take into consideration all the facts that are relative to what you are actually hoping for.
  2. It sucks when you find yourself torn between speaking up and remaining silent.
  3. The kind of people that we should be most worried about are not the suicidal ones, but the ones who are ambivalent about death. Those who are suicidal ones want to end their lives and they usually succeed but ending their own lives. After that, the suffering ends. Ambivalent people, on the the other hand, also want their suffering to end but they are unable to end their lives because they want to live or because they still value their lives. Because they don’t want to die, their suffering will continue for as long as they live.
  4. It’s hard when what your mind says and what your heart says contradict each other. Do you follow what you know is right or do you follow what you really want despite the possible consequences?
  5. One thing I hope to master soon is to determine whether a person is actually listening to you or is just waiting for his/her turn to talk.
  6. You can’t really take a side when you are in the middle of two warring people. Both of them will be able to share their stories in a way that will make you want to agree with both of them.
  7. Sometimes we don’t have to remind other people that what they are doing is wrong. This is especially the case when people are already old enough to know the difference between what’s right and wrong.
  8. It’s easier to disprove than to prove. You can easily disprove that you’re a friend by doing a bad deed but you would have to resort to all sorts of things just to prove to someone that you are a friend.
  9. I worry about people who gossip to me about their other friends. If they can do that to their other friends, then they can easily gossip about me especially since we are not very close to one another.
  10. It’s very sad when dry sobs replace the moist tears that used to trickle down your cheeks.
  11. Life will always go on even if you don’t want it to.
  12. You only feel that you’re aging unless you think about your age.
  13. We refuse to let go of both the good and bad memories because these memories helped become the person we are right now.
  14. It’s tough being around something that you want but can’t have.
  15. It takes time to build friendship but only seconds to destroy it.
  16. I don’t know if I’m a great actor at masking my feelings or if people are just really insensitive.
  17. So many people know a person’s name, but not his/her story so don’t be too quick to judge.
  18. Tired can be an understatement.
6 Comments

  1. All of these things are very insightful and true, but the ones that struck a chord with me are #5 and then #’s 8,9,11, 15 because of the social implications of determining how the person is thinking and feeling, the veiled underlies behind a person’s intention and the notion that you can’t control most things in life, as much as you want to. I’m always psychoanalyzing everyone and everything around me and wonder why he or she did this and what they really meant about it, which can get kind of frustrating sometimes because I don’t go with the flow, haha. Great list!

    • Two things
      1. Thanks for your comment, Kevin! I really appreciate it that you took the time to tell me which ones struck a chord with you. 🙂
      2. You got me on “psychoanalyzing everyone and everything around me” — Story of my life, buddy!

  2. #5 and #8 both really stuck out.
    I’m guily of #5 more than I like to admit. I tend to do it when I’m really excited about what I want to say, or if I’m a conversation with someone overly talkative. The type where you have to fight to get a sentence in.
    I feel #8 relates well to the fact that people are quick to point out flaws and mistakes, but not recognize their achievements or good deeds.

    • About #5. Hey, at least you have guts to admit it. 🙂
      About #8. I can agree to what you said because this can be found in all sorts of relationships. I sometimes witness fights between two people and the first thing that Person 1 uses against Person 2 are the shortcomings of Person 2 to Person 1.

  3. #3 and #10 I relate to ridiculously. Sometimes sadness is beyond tears, that’s exactly how I’ve been feeling lately. I love your work xx

    • I’m sorry you feel that way 😦 if you’re up for it, you can always leave a message or email me because we never have to be alone with what we’re going through. 🙂

      And thank you!

Leave a Reply

